Walhampton's Board of Governors is responsible for the overall governance of the school, setting the strategic direction and ensuring that the school is run efficiently and effectively by the Head and Bursar.

The Chair of Governors can be contacted via the Clerk to the Governors, Nikki Slowey: n.slowey@walhampton.com

The school contact details are
Walhampton School, Walhampton, Lymington, Hampshire, SO41 5ZG
Tel: 01590 613 300

The governors, who are also trustees of the charity, are as follows:

Iain Rawlinson (appointed March 2018)

Iain Rawlinson

Chairman of the Board (March 2018)

A background in law, and 30 years experience in the financial, investment and industrial sectors. He also has significant experience of working in the charitable sector.

Now, holding Board appointments at a number of public and private companies and charities, and Fellow of the Centre for Social Innovation at the Cambridge Judge Business School.

Interests are writing, music, the sea, Scotland and Africa. 

Iain joined the Board of Governors in January 2017 as a member of the Finance Committee.

Parent of a former pupil.

Charles Nicholson (November 2013)

Charles Nicholson

Chair- General Purposes Committee 

Special responsibility for Health & Safety.

Member of Development Plan Working Group.

Co-founder and MD, The Contract Chair Company Ltd.

Former Walhampton pupil. Career background in fund management, property development, and the furniture industry.

Interests include sailing, skiing and naval history.

Parent of two current pupils.

Kristine Host-Verbraak (June 2014)

Kristine Host-Verbraak

Education Committee 

Special responsibility for Pre-Prep.

Special interest in marketing. Early career in product / project management, then Chief Marketing Officer in software companies.

A keen sailor, skier and runner.

Parent of a former pupil.

Samantha Keen (June 2014)

Samantha Keen

Finance Committee

Chartered Accountant and licensed insolvency practitioner. Early career in PwC and Grant Thornton, now a Restructuring Partner at Ernst & Young.

Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of England and Wales and a Fellow of R3, Association of Recovery Practitioners and of the Insolvency Practitioners Association (IPA).

Formerly a board member of a local Church Aided primary school and currently on the Finance Committee of the IPA.

Enjoys spending time on the Solent with family and friends, fine food and wines and reading.

Parent of one former pupil.

Heidi Leavesley (September 2016)

Heidi Leavesley

General Purposes Committee

Barrister at Law (Middle Temple).

Justice of the Peace since 2003. Currently sitting on the West Hampshire Bench as an Adult Chair and Youth Court magistrate. Previously appointed to West Dorset. 

Member of The Parole Board for England and Wales since 2009, including as an accredited Chair since 2014. Presiding over mandatory life sentence and Indeterminate sentence cases. 

Member of HMCT Criminal Injuries Compensation Tribunal since 2012.

Parent of one former pupil.

Other interests include travel, music, foreign languages and spend time with my family.  

Derek Shakespeare (June 2014)

Derek Shakespeare

Chair - Finance Committee

Over 20-year career in investment banking, including with Credit Suisse, Bank of America and Merrill Lynch. Now co-head UK & Ireland M&A at Barclays.

Interests include sailing, hockey, making music, travel and country pursuits.

Currently Hon. Treasurer of the Royal Ocean Racing Club.

Parent of three former pupils (scholarships to Winchester and Marlborough).

Dr Mark Sopher (September 2016)

Mark Sopher

General Purposes Committee

Consultant Cardiologist and Clinical Director at the Royal Bournemouth Hospital.

Medical undergraduate and postgraduate training and research in London teaching and postgraduate hospitals leaving to set up a new unit in Bournemouth in 2005. Parent of two current pupils and two former pupils (now at Eton College).

Recently completed an MSc in Healthcare Management and Economics at the London School of Economics.


Matthew Winter (November 2013) 

Matthew Winter

Education Committee

Housemaster and Head of Theology & Philosophy, Winchester College.

Keen hockey player and musician (piano, drums & guitar).

Lealand Pearce (March 2018) 

Lealand Pearce

Education Committee 

Housemaster and teacher of Philosophy and Theology at Canford School in Dorset. 

Graduated with a BSc from Cardiff University and a PGCE at Masters Level 7.  Extensive experience as a tutor both in day and boarding houses as well as working as the Fifth Form tutor coordinator at Canford School in Dorset.


James Barnes (June 2019)

Chair - Education Committee 

A qualified inspector and appraiser. Worked in senior preparatory schools almost 20 years. A consultant for GEMS UK and projects have included setting up schools, inspections and programmes. Enjoy walking in Wiltshire, playing golf, cooking and reading. 


Caroline Trotter (June 2019)

 Caroline Trotter

Early career in Cazenove and Whitbread focused on corporate finance and strategic business planning. More recently, advised new business ventures on fundraising in the creative and leisure industries.

Retrained with St. James’s Place Wealth Management and launched her own private client financial advisory practice.

Diploma in Regulated Financial Planning. MBA Imperial College. MSc London School of Economics. BA (Hons) Kings College London and Institut d’Etudes Politique de Paris.

 Enjoys supporting her boys’ interests in wildlife conservation and sailing; travelling; experimenting with new cookery recipes; and hiking with fellow Walhampton parents.